© 2020 by Delox/Delia Mayer

youtube_NEU.jpg
facebook_edited.png
fm_NEU_edited.jpg
castup_NEU_edited.jpg

about

To start with
Born in the late ‘60s in Hong Kong. Dad plays in his jazz band and mom runs the club.

 

Soon after
The Mayer family moves to Switzerland and with Flower Power through the ‘70s. Music always and everywhere. Father Vali on the bass and brother Jojo already on the drums. Days are spent in a small town on lake Zurich and nights backstage across Europe. All of it managed by mother Myriam. Omnipresent the Music of Earth Wind & Fire, Frank Sinatra, Sarah Vaughan, Ray Charles, Beatles, Aretha Franklin, Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Stevie Wonder, Pink Floyd, Miles Davis, Billie Holliday, James Brown.

  

A bit later

Piano lessons from age seven. Rather plays by heart or improvises than reading scores. Switches to singing after a bite of dad’s pet crocodile Jacob. Dance lessons, because who wants to sit still all the time? But also A-levels in economics because detours have their upside too.

 

 

Inevitable

Studies in dance, singing and drama in Vienna, Meisner technique and Strasberg method in New York, masterclasses in opera and classical singing, coaching with Giles Formann (Center for Acting in London).

 

Discovers Schubert, Brahms, Fauré, Verdi, Mozart, Strauss, Wolf, Schoenberg, Eisler, Weill, Hollaender, Alban Berg; and at the same time influenced by the music of Rickie Lee Jones, Joni Mitchell, Keith Jarrett, Hildegard Knef, Bertolt Brecht, Nina Hagen, Randy Newmann, Tom Waits, Eva Cassidy, Lizz Wright, Bob Dylan.

 

Today
Living in Zurich and Berlin, in migration between cinema, TV, theater and music in Europe & USA. Singer- Songwriter album release These Days co-produced by Jojo Mayer, often to be found on the road with her band. Collaborations with Burgtheater Vienna, Ruhrtriennale Germany, KKL Lucerne, Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich, Blitz-Theatre Group Greece, and James Gaffigan, Doris Dörrie, Anna Winger and Maria Schrader among many others.

 

 

One day

Neuro-psychologist, truck driver, lifeguard?

© 2020 by Delox/Delia Mayer

youtube_NEU.jpg
facebook_edited.png
fm_NEU_edited.jpg
castup_NEU_edited.jpg

about

Am Anfang
Geboren in Hong Kong, dort erstmal schwitzen und chinesische Katzen am Schwanz ziehen.

 

Bald darauf
In die Schweiz, nach Rüschlikon bei Zürich. Neben dem Zürichsee kam Flower Power, die 70-er Jahre und Musik in ihre Zellen und Ohrmuscheln. Vater Vali Kontrabassist und Bruder Jojo damals schon am Schlagzeug sorgten für Jazz, endlose Backstage-Aufenthalte und lange Autofahrten zu Gigs im blauen VW-Bus. Mutter Myriam, einst Schauspielerin, dann Geschäftsfrau und Managerin, behielt die Übersicht. Weiter kommt in die Ohren: Earth Wind & Fire, Frank Sinatra, Sarah Vaughan, Ray Charles, Beatles, Aretha Franklin, Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Stevie Wonder, Pink Floyd, Miles Davis, Billie Holliday, James Brown.

 

Etwas später
Mit sieben Klavierunterricht. Lieber auswendig oder Eigenes als nach Noten. Der Schritt zum Gesang als logische Folge eines Krokodil-Bisses in die Hand von Haustier Köbi. Und weil eine Oktave eh zu gross zum Greifen war. Tanzunterricht, weil Stillsitzen keine Option war. Die Wirtschaftsmatura, damit das abstrakte Denken doch nicht ganz vernachlässigt wird.

 

Nicht zu vermeiden
Studium & Diplom für Tanz, Gesang und Schauspiel in Wien, Studium für Meisner- und Strasberg-Technik in New York USA, Studium für Klassischen Gesang am Konservatorium Zürich (Züricher Hochschule der Künste ZHdK), Meisterklassen bei Prof. Elisabeth Glauser, Margreet Honig und Gisela May. Schauspiel-Coaching mit Giles Formann Center for Acting London.

Mehr Musik in die Ohren und die Kehle: Schubert, Brahms, Fauré, Verdi, Mozart, Strauss, Wolf, Schoenberg, Eisler, Weill, Hollaender, Alban Berg. Gleichzeitig: Rickie Lee Jones, Joni Mitchell, Keith Jarrett, Hildegard Knef, Nina Hagen, Randy Newmann, Tom Waits, Eva Cassidy, Lizz Wright, Bob Dylan.

Bis heute
Grenzgängerin zwischen E & U, Theater-, Musiktheater- & Musikproduktionen am Burgtheater Wien, Theater Basel, Ruhrtriennale, Theater an der Wien, KKL Luzern, Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, Luzerner Theater, Vereinigten Bühnen Wien, Theater Gessnerallee u.a., Kino- & TV-Filmen (u.a. als Schweizer TATORT-Kommissarin Liz Ritschard 2012-2019) und eigenen musikalischen Produktionen in Deutschland, Österreich, Schweiz, Italien, Frankreich, Holland und USA. Zusammenarbeiten als Sängerin und Songwriterin für Filmsoundtracks (u.a. für Doris Dörrie) & CD-Produktionen, Singer- Songwriter Album
THESE DAYS gemeinsam mit Co-Produzent Jojo Mayer.

 

Später
Neuro-Philosophin, Verhaltensforscherin, Bademeisterin?

​​